‘Sto morendo’, l’ultimo tweet di Olesya e la protesta in #Venezuela

Olesya Zhukovskaya è l’infermiera di 21 anni, Ukraina, colpita oggi al collo, durante le manifestazioni antigovernative di Kiev. Imprecisato il numero di morti negli scontri con le forze di polizia e i riot polices, gli estremisti che lottano per la caduta del governo Ukraino.

Secondo gli ultimi aggiornamenti, la ragazza, una libera volontaria nella croce rossa, sarebbe in condizioni gravi in un ospedale del centro della capitale Ukraina.

Ieri il consiglio dei ministri europeo si è riunito per discutere sulle possibili sanzioni da attribuire al governo del vicino Est europeo. Intanto dall’altro capo del mondo, si unisce alla protesta anche il popolo Venezuelano. Il leader d’opposizione Leopoldo Lopez, di Volontà popolare, si è consegnato alla polizia.

#Venezuela#euromaidan#ukraine #kiev #ukraineprotest#kiev #ukraine#kiev#CookedNews

Advertisements

A dark day in Europe Statement of Foreign Policy 2014, on Ukraine

#Kiev #Sochi2014 #Ukraine

It is a dark day in Europe. On the streets of one of our capitals, people are being killed. Their demands were simple and natural: democracy, reforms and European cooperation. Their desire was, for a long time, the desire expressed by the entire Ukrainian nation. And this was why we in the European Union, through the Eastern Partnership, opened the door to cooperation, trade, reforms and integration.

We did so because we too were convinced that this was in the interests not only of Ukraine, but of the whole of Europe. But let us be clear about what happened. Last summer, Russia launched a single-minded pressure offensive to make Ukraine deviate from its chosen course. Brutal trade barriers were combined with open threats. And a wavering leadership in Ukraine gave in.

But when they gave in, it was seen as a betrayal by all those people who had hoped for a better future. The European flag flew in Maidan Square as a symbol of the desire for a better future. People wanted to move forwards alongside the rest of Europe – not backwards towards the all too well-known. Without those threats from Moscow and the wavering in Kiev, Ukraine could today have been clearly on its way to a better future.

The International Monetary Fund, with support from us all, was prepared to offer an economic assistance and reform programme. And the door to European political cooperation, and the political solidarity that goes along with it, had been opened.

Not all of the problems had been resolved. But Ukraine was, with broad European and international support, clearly on a path to a better future. But this future of European cooperation was a future that powerful forces did not want to see. And that is where the responsibility for the killings on the streets of Kiev clearly and ultimately lies.

Today, President Yanukovych has blood on his hands. And I am afraid that the path he has now taken will lead to even more suffering and violence. He was the only one who could have prevented the killing – by extending a hand of genuine cooperation to the democratic opposition.

Instead they were shown a fist. People have been shot dead with live ammunition. Peaceful demonstrators. But police officers and others have also been harmed in the violence that broke out. I am afraid that Ukraine is now heading for dark times. The crisis in the country will become deeper and longer. I am deeply concerned.

But the outcome of the violence will be precarious and short-lived. It will die away like a storm on the steppes. What has happened, and is happening, in Ukraine also demonstrates the power of the European dream. A Europe of peace and freedom and cooperation.

And sooner or later, it will triumph in Ukraine too.

Statement
Ministry for Foreign Affairs 19 February 2014
Carl Bildt, Minister for Foreign Affairs Sweden

Contact
Erik Zsiga
Press Secretary to Carl Bildt
+46 72 573 91 30
email to Erik Zsiga

#Ukraine #euromaidan#Kiev,  #CookedNews

One Billion Rising: 48 hours of global activism!

VDAY2014 #cookednews

As February 14th dawns across the world, ONE BILLION RISING FOR JUSTICE begins 48 hours of global activism designed to focus the world’s attention on the issue of justice for all survivors of gender violence, and ending the rampant impunity that prevails globally. This day of action is part of a two year long activist led campaign highlighting the work of thousands of groups on the ground, deepening the connection of injustices, escalating pressure on government and media through constant activity and invigorating local and national movements through global solidarity and dancing.

For 48 hours as 14 February rolls across the globe, one billion women, men, and youth from 200 countries will peacefully gather outside places where they are entitled to justice – court houses, police stations, government offices, school administration buildings, work places, sites of environmental injustice, military courts, embassies, places of worship, homes, or simply public gathering places where women deserve to feel safe but too often do not – to shine a spotlight on injustice and to demand an end to violence against women and girls.

FOLLOW THE GLOBAL CAMPAIGN

For months, activists planning One Billion Rising for Justice events have used media, social platforms and the Internet to connect to one another and on Friday, they will continue to do so on a global scale like never ensuring their personal visions of justice heard.

Details on following One Billion Rising online and the campaign’s Live Streams:

One Billion Rising Homepage (www.onebillionrising.org) The homepage of OneBillionRising.org has been transformed into a social media and digital activism platform, a one-stop location to follow the global campaign in real-time with updates from grassroots organizers, access to live stream events, links to coverage of the campaign, and statements of support, and of defiance, from across social media.

#rise4justice and #1billionrising Online activists are rising together on Facebook, Twitter, YouTube, Tumblr, Instagram, and Soundcloud, among others. This year, the campaign is using the hashtags #rise4justice and #1billionrising to connect a creative community of supporters and to highlight the thousands of photos, videos, and art, including original songs, videos, poems, and dance, that are being shared at rapid speed.

Around the Clock, from Around the World – Live Stream Schedule

Kicking off with a flash mob outside of the Presidential Place in the Philippines, One Billion Rising will live stream more than two-dozen events from around the world from Lima, Peru to Trafalgar Square in the heart of London.

One Billion Rising for Justice Live Stream Schedule (subject to change)

One Billion Rising for Justice Live Stream Schedule (subject to change)

Philippines

10:30am-12pm PHT / 9:30-11pm EST (2/13) / 2:30-4am GMT (2/14)

India (Ahmadabad, Gujarat)

11:30am – 12:30pm IST / 1-2am EST / 6-7am GMT

Bangladesh Time

TBD

Philippines

3-8pm PHT / 2-7am EST / 7am – 12pm GMT

Congo

12pm CAT / 5am EST / 10am GMT

London

12pm – 1pm GMT / 7am – 8am EST

Cape Town

2:30pm SAST / 7:30am EST / 12:30pm GMT

Hungary

2pm – 3pm CET / 8am – 9am EST / 1-2pm GMT

Italy

2:15pm CET / 8:15am EST / 1:15 GMT

Pakistan

6:30pm PKT / 8:30am EST / 1:30pm GMT

Italy

4pm CET / 10am EST / 3pm GMT

NYC: JustLove

10am – 6pm EST (break 2-3) / 3pm – 11pm GMT (break 7-8)

Atlanta

10am-2pm (break 11:30-12:30) CT / 11am – 3pm (break 12:30-1:30) EST / 4-8pm (break 5:30 – 6:30) GMT

Guatemala

11am – 12pm CST / 12-1pm EST / 5-6pm GMT

Los Angeles (West Hollywood)

10-11am PST / 1-2pm EST / 6-7pm GMT

Santa Fe

12PM MT / 2pm EST / 7pm GMT

Guyana

4pm – 5:30pm GYT / 3-4:30pm EST / 8-9:30 GMT

Los Angeles (Downtown LA)

4-5pm EST / 9-10pm GMT

Miami

5-7pm EST / 10pm – 12am GMT

Peru

6pm PET / 6pm EST / 11pm GMT

San Francisco

4-6pm PT / 7-9pm EST / 12-2am GMT

NYC: RISE NYC

8pm – 11:30pm EST / 1am – 4:30am GMT

Mexico City (2/15/14)

11am CST / 12pm EST / 5pm GMT

Disclaimer: As with any live-streaming event, there are technical considerations that may be beyond our control. V-Day will do its best to make sure that the events listed are streamed in their entirety; however, we cannot make any guarantee of 100 percent uptime.

On this day, 14 February, 2014, V-activists will shine a spotlight on the darkness of injustice and make the connections between their visions of justice and the ultimate goal of eliminating all forms of violence against women and girls by RISING, RELEASING and DANCING in the light.

 

To get involved with V-Day and ONE BILLION RISING FOR JUSTICE:

·SIGN UP at www.onebillionrising.org

·LIKE US on Facebook at Facebook.com/vday

·FOLLOW on Twitter @VDay and #rise4justice

·RECEIVE text message updates, text BILLION to 50555 (US only)

·REGISTER your event on the One Billion Rising For Justice map

·SHARE “What Justice Looks Like” to you, via video, words, song, art, poetry…

·READ blog content from Global Coordinators and activists

·WATCH the new One Billion Rising For Justice short film

·MEET Global Coordinators

For more information, visit http://www.onebillionrising.org.

# # 

About V-Day

V-Day is a global activist movement to end violence against women and girls that raises funds and awareness through benefit productions of Playwright/Founder Eve Ensler’s award winning play ‘The Vagina Monologues’ and other artistic works. The V-Day movement has raised over $100 million; educated millions about the issue of violence against women and the efforts to end it; crafted international educational, media and PSA campaigns; reopened shelters; and funded over 13,000 community-based anti-violence programs and safe houses in Democratic Republic of Congo, Haiti, Kenya, and Iraq. V-Day has received numerous acknowledgements and awards and is, one of the Top-Rated organizations on both Charity Navigator and Guidestar.  V-Day’s most recent global campaign, ONE BILLION RISING, galvanized over one billion women and men on a global day of action towards ending violence against women and girls. www.vday.org

#1BillionRising#CookedNews#Rise4Justice

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.